album-art
15
30
1X
Available now on:

#79 Shawn Walchef, Cali BBQ Media Founder, on the craft of digital storytelling

Calling in from San Diego, Shawn Walchef is a true maverick when it comes to scaling a restaurant digitally. Since the pandemic, his restaurant Cali Comfort BBQ has been three times more profitable than ever. Within 12 years, it’s gone from $300,000 losing money each year to making $3.3 million in 12 years. His secret? The smartphone.

It’s common for people in hospitality to work 80 – 100 hours a week, but it just didn’t sit right. It’s time for restaurants to be reconfigured. Digital hospitality has a huge opportunity for all of us to harness. As we learn from Shawn, it takes consistency and time to learn how to craft your digital story to who you serve. Join our conversation as we discuss partnering with digital suppliers, podcasting, mastering digital marketing, and the days of the Yellow Pages. 

Links:

Join the Hospitality Mavericks newsletter: https://rb.gy/5rqyeq  

Join the GameChanger Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/2GAvr2W

Restaurantowner.com: https://www.restaurantowner.com/  

Restaurant Solutions: https://restaurantaccountingservices.com/ 

Digital Hospitality Podcast: https://calibbq.media/podcast-episodes/  

Cali Comfort BBQ YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/CaliComfortBBQ 

Toast: https://pos.toasttab.com/ 

Seth Godin: https://www.sethgodin.com/ 

Simon Sinek: https://simonsinek.com/ 

Gene Goycochea: https://twitter.com/ggoycochea 

‘How I Built This’ by Guy Raz: https://www.amazon.com/How-Built-This-Unexpected-Entrepreneurs/dp/0358216761 

How I Built This Podcast: https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510313/how-i-built-this 

David Meltzer: https://dmeltzer.com/ 

The Playbook podcast: https://www.entrepreneur.com/listen/playbook 

Gary Vaynerchuk: https://www.garyvaynerchuk.com/ 

Twitter @shawnpwalchef: https://twitter.com/shawnpwalchef 

CaliBBQ.media: https://calibbq.media/ 

#6: ‘Only the Innovative Will Survive’ With Joe Cripps, Co-founder and MD at Trail: https://www.hospitalitymavericks.com/podcast/episode/33806174/6-only-the-innovative-will-survive-with-joe-cripps-co-founder-and-md-at-trail

This podcast uses the following third-party services for analysis:

Podcorn – https://podcorn.com/privacy
Chartable – https://chartable.com/privacy

© Hospitality.FM. All rights reserved. Website by Hudson Creative Studio.